State Election 2018

Tasmanian State Election 2018

The Tasmanian State Government election was held on Saturday 3 March.

As the State’s peak advocacy body for seniors, COTA Tasmania sought the views of candidates in the five state electorates on a range of topics affecting older Tasmanians.

Candidate Survey – results now available 

COTA invited the majority of the 109 registered candidates in the state election to respond to a series of pertinent questions in an online survey.   We backgrounded them, then asked 26 questions on issues affecting older Tasmanians, ranging from flu innoculations for aged care workers to digital literacy for older people.

Below are individual responses from candidates in alphabetical electorate order. The state Liberal, Labor and Greens parties also provided their party responses.


Brett Lucas (Ind)

Brian Roe (ALP)


Anita Dow (ALP)

Danielle Kidd  (ALP)

Shane Broad (ALP)


Ella Haddad (ALP)

Madeleine Ogilvie (ALP)

Rob Newitt (T4T)

Tim Cox (ALP)

Zelinda Sherlock (ALP)


Alison Standen (ALP)

David O’Byrne (ALP)

Ross Lincolne (G)


Jen Butler (ALP)

Kylie Wright (ALP)

Lucy Landon-Lane (G)

Rebecca White (ALP)

Wayne Turale (SF&F)



Liberal Party

Tasmanian Greens

COTA (Tas Labor 2018 State Election)


The Liberal Party’s Older Persons policy and COTA Tasmania’s official media release in response.